LibGuides: Junior Research Paper Social Studies: Synthesize

SYNTHESIZE: Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. JSTOR is a database of academic, peer-reviewed articles and primary sources.
Annals of American History This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. BEST FEATURE(S): Primary sources about U.S. History. CITATION QUALITY: What citation??? >:-( DESCRIPTION: This is a database of primary source documents dating back to colonial times in America.
National Newspapers This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. This Current News databases includes:
Christian Science Monitor (1988-current)
Hartford Courant (1992-current)
New York Times (1980-current)
Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Washignton Post (1987-current)
You can cross search all these papers simultaneously, delimit your search terms to title or publication, and look for specific article types (e.g., OP-ED, which is labeled "Commentary")
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. This database features Historical Newspapers:
Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004)
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1922)
New York Times (1851-2014)
Washington Post (1877-2001)
iPoll This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. Demographic and statistical U.S. census data delivered in visual maps or tables.
Statista This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. Statista – The portal for statistics. Immediate access to over one million statistics and facts.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
History in Context - United States This link opens in a new window
username & password info at bit.ly/nchsaccess. In the "Wonder" stage of your research process, use "Reference". Later on ("Investigate" and "Synthesize"), use other options from the menu on the top right in your results page. "Sign in with Google" (top left of screen)! This U.S. History database includes news and academic articles, images, video, primary sources, and statistics. It is one of our favorites. Plus we love the integration with Google Drive. Download your articles to Google Drive and they will appear in your Drive folder under the database name!

MLA 8 Formatting Part I Video

SYNTHESIZE: Checkpoint (Thesis Statement)

Thesis Lesson

Although it targeted a minority audience, the African-American press played a key role in turning Emmett Till’s murder into a cornerstone event in the American campaign for civil rights.
While there are a number of cutting edge technology companies that develop innovative personal computing devices, few design products that anticipate consumer needs and desires like Apple Computer Inc.